One year long job interview

I can hardly imagine any other organization than army that would analyze their employee so carefully – even musicians.

At some point of my service I realized that this is all the time part of my job interview. And it’s going to last all the year. Now I can say that I am one step closer to the job. The audition was held this week and they chose me. So I still have to complete the running test and complete my service before beginning the work.

I have been talking with my fellow musicians and sometimes some people say that they find it so absurd that musicians have to run to get the job. It is not that common, but actually when I begin to think about it more closely it is not just a bad thing.

Cooper test is to measure your condition so it tells you how fit you are. As I have been studying all these years I have become more and more interested about my body. That led me to write my latest thesis (sorry, in Finnish, but the abstract in English) about the body as the most important instrument. In order to be able to work with this field you really should take care of yourself. The working hours are demanding with traveling and the position to hold instruments is many times burdensome for the body. Many musicians suffer from health problems and overuse syndromes that could be partly fixed with certain kind of sports.

photo by Heli Palomaa

photo by Heli Palomaa

So this test it really motivating me and also I want to find this healthy lifestyle to stay fit for many coming years and don’t hurt myself with playing.
Now it’s time to get ready for jogging.

Good health for all musicians!

Leave a Reply

