Skills

What are your skills?

I ended up in front of this question during one course. The course was called “Personal Career Plan”. Usually it’s possible to skip these questions but this time we really had to start thinking what are our skills that could be some money’s worth.

There were people from many backgrounds in the course and I think I was one of those really few who were focusing on classical playing. During all my education the main thing has been developing my skills on playing the clarinet. And how does it happen? Inside the practicing box alone the most of the time.

That led me into a short depression. What am I? “I’m just one quite good clarinetist.” But is that enough? No, it’s not enough for marketing yourself. Do I have anything special to offer? After thinking a lot I started to find somethings that might make me unique among all other good clarinetist.

I’m interested in musicians health. I find sports and other activities very important for musicians to keep their body balanced and to be in the best condition to be able to reach the best outcome with playing. My latest thesis is about this theme.

I’m international. I have good connections to quite many people from quite many countries. I have also lived abroad two times and have studied 5 foreign languages. Also I’m able to imitate Tampere dialect a bit.

I have good social skills. Even though I’m sometimes a bit shy, I get along with people easily. Still I should have more contacts.

I have good organizing skills. I like to plan ahead. I make lots of different kind of lists and plans and usually I’m able to fulfill those plans.

I like to write. I think this blog is one good proof.

I’m good with computers and other devices. Today’s world expects everyone and everything to be online.

I enjoy performing. I enjoy choosing the clothes and planing my appearance for concerts.

I like to drive but I still don’t have a car.

I’m quite good to massage. Maybe I could become musician’s massage therapist.

I don’t know if it’s a skill but people tend to ask me all kinds of information. For example people seem to trust that I know always the timetables or where to find some places.

To get a job as a orchestra musician it seems that only the playing skills should matter and that’s why it’s the biggest part of the education, I guess. Sometimes also knowing the right people plays a big role. Playing in an orchestra is my dream at the moment. But I believe I would be happy if I could find a job where to use my skills and feel that I’m useful.

After all, doing what you like makes you happy. And I believe all people have skills that they even didn’t think very valuable in the first place. Find your own!

Leave a Reply

