Summer theatre and Summer Philharmonic

I’ve got really amazing experiences this summer also with playing and music.

The first part of July I spent in Kruunupyy in a summer theatre. I jumped in during the premiere week rehearsals so I had to absorb everything quickly. The whole group of people working there were wonderful and it was really easy to feel to be apart of the show right away. It was also cool to see behind the scenes. The performance begins with clarinet solo. I felt that I’m the one who gives the feeling and the enegry for the whole performance. Before every performance we gathered together inside and made some exercises for focusing and energy. Those were really inspirating. Maybe orchestras or enseblmes should do these kind of common things together before performances too?

Mitt hjärtas hem

photo by Heli Palomaa

Many people came to thank me for my job there. It means a lot to me. Also it was good two weeks practice of swedish language.

Studentmössan

photo by Heli Palomaa

My other musical summer experience happened a bit more far away in the heart of Europe. We spent one week practicing and having a three concert’s tour in Chemnitz, Germany, Chomutov, Czech Rebuplic and Łódź, Poland.

Clarinets

photo by Johanna Nuß

We played all the time outside and it was really a touch with the nature finding spiders for example hanging on your chin. One rehearsal was in a church because of the rain but otherwise the weather was perfectly sunny. Even a bit too hot for my taste!

Rehearsals

photo by Heli Palomaa

The idea of the orchestra was to bring together old and young, professionals and amateurs. The atmosphere was awesome. I got to know so many great people and musicians! I can’t think any better way to spent the end of July. I even learned to play F major scale with bassoon. Should add that one to my CV 😉

Summer is slowly coming to it’s end and next week is time to start working again. For sure I will write about my thoughts as a teacher and musician working in a theatre.

Leave a Reply

